Reflection

At this point now, I feel more prepared to practice as a Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP). Backed up with the knowledge I gained during the two years of studying for this program, I could say that it helped me to be a powerful NP who can treat the patient safely with high quality using critical thinking skills.

Though I have not mastered all of the common diagnoses yet, I feel that I need to research further on sports medicine-related topics. I am confident about assessing for musculoskeletal problems but I believe that I have to learn more to better diagnose sports medicine-related diagnoses.

Reflecting on the goals that I set for the week 1 of the course, I am proud to say that I met all of it. The goals include being more familiarized with the differential diagnoses pertaining to the chief complaint to better diagnose a disease. In addition, it also includes filling in gaps in learning with regards to assessing, diagnosing, planning, intervening, and evaluating. This is as evidenced by exposing myself to all evidence-based knowledge that I came across throughout this learning experience. As we know, nursing and medicine are two evolving aspects of healthcare, and that paired with a non-ending commitment for excellence by voluntarily updating myself to things that are new and modernized. In the future, as I apply all these learning into practice, I will make sure to go back and be mindful to apply all the education I gained when seeing patients.

Presently, the goals that I have placed for myself is to review and prepare for the boards. I will make sure to pass the boards to be able for me to fully apply all the learning that I received to the practice. From there, I will look for a job in a setting which I really like. Though I know that I am almost done with this program, I will not stop learning. In order for me to do that, I will expose myself to people, events, conferences out there that relate to family practice as a FNP.

Leave a Reply

